AND SO IT BEGINS

One fine Saturday morning I decided to wake up around 4:30 a.m. to attend a men’s bible study about “pride.” I had a general idea about what this word meant but soon found out I had a little understanding of the true meaning.

When I read the definition of pride, it stung like swarming wasps on my ear which by the way happened when I was a kid. 😩

wasp

The Catholic Catechism defines pride as “an inordinate self-esteem or self-love, which seeks attention and honor and sets oneself in competition with God.” A google search defines pride as “a feeling of deep pleasure or satisfaction derived from ones own achievements.”

It hurts because I know it’s a HUGE struggle for me and has affected my life in many ways in the past. I’ve lost jobs, friends, hurt family members and burned many bridges. I’ll give you a few examples in the next blog I will write very soon. This blog is about ways to conquer pride.

How does one conquer pride and all the evil things that come with it? Romans 12-3 says “Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgement, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you.” I think this bible verse says it pretty well.

If you think about what God did for us it’s really pretty sobering. He sent His son to die for ALL our sins on the cross. THAT INCLUDES PRIDE PEOPLE! But what I think is most sobering is the fact that Jesus IS God. He was tortured and ridiculed and did this without even the slightest bit of pride. He did ALL of this with humility. He did this because HE LOVES US!

christ-on-the-cross-1627-jpglarge

Now I know what some of you are thinking “well yeah it’s easy because well, He’s God.” Yes it is. But He didn’t have to be brutally tortured for us either. He did that because He loves us! That right there should drain the pride right out of our hearts and make us humble don’t ya think?

It’s difficult swallowing pride and being humble in such a competitive world. If you have ever traveled to a big city like Chicago, the honking horns let you know how impatient this world is. The next time someone cuts you off or honks at you because they think you’ve cut them off, simply ignore it. That’s not easy for me, just ask my wife Erin. But if you can think about Jesus dying on that cross with so much humility, maybe that will change the way you react. Maybe that pride that gets in the way will one day turn into well, humility.

Thank you for reading my first blog. Please feel free to comment. Gods Blessings!

Jake Petersen

2 thoughts on “PRIDE

  1. Wow! An eye opener right from the start. In this chaotic life we lead we(I) tend to get ‘lost’ in all the action.
    This brought to mind several key things that hit home. I am anxious to see future blogs.
    GBY

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

